Holiday hacks header

Holiday hacks: Make the most out of your annual leave

Now, call me Sherlock, but I’m guessing that if you’re reading this, we both share a mutual love of going on holiday. Am I right? Gosh, I’m good. So, now we’ve established that, I’m guessing I’m also right in saying that you’d want to make the most of going on holiday at any given opportunity, if you could?

We all love a city break or a long weekend, but sometimes it’s hard to wait for summer for that all-important week or two away. But fear not! I come bearing great news. I wanted to bring your attention to two little holiday hacks that will see you enjoying some much-needed time away from the office, without sacrificing too much annual leave. Intrigued? You should be.

Holiday hack no. 1: Easter and May Bank Holidays

Holiday hacks - couple in pool

Thanks to Easter falling later on this year, you’ve got the perfect opportunity to enjoy two and a half weeks off work. Yep, that’s right; you could have 18 consecutive days off for just nine days’ annual leave. If you work a regular Monday to Friday job, all you need to do is book off Tuesday 18 – Friday 21 April and Monday 24 – Friday 28 April. Here it is broken down for you:

Day 1) Friday 14 April – Good Friday
Day 2) Saturday 15 April – Easter Saturday
Day 3) Sunday 16 April – Easter Sunday
Day 4) Monday 17 April – Easter Monday
Day 5) Tuesday 18 April – Annual leave
Day 6) Wednesday 19 April – Annual leave
Day 7) Thursday 20 April – Annual leave
Day 8) Friday 21 April – Annual leave
Day 9) Saturday 22 April – Normal weekend
Day 10) Sunday 23 April – Normal weekend
Day 11) Monday 24 April – Annual leave
Day 12) Tuesday 25 April – Annual leave
Day 13) Wednesday 26 April – Annual leave
Day 14) Thursday 27 April – Annual leave
Day 15) Friday 28 April – Annual leave
Day 16) Saturday 29 April – Normal weekend
Day 17) Sunday 30 April – Normal weekend
Day 18) Monday 1 May – May Day Bank Holiday

Holiday hack no. 2: Christmas and New Year

Holiday hacks - woman reading on the beach

Easter isn’t the only time of year when you can benefit from more time off than what you book. We sometimes get lucky with the way that Christmas and New Year falls, and 2017 is no different. Christmas Day and Boxing Day fall on a Monday and Tuesday this year, meaning you automatically get the two days leading up to that off anyway. Then all you have to do is book the Wednesday 27 – Friday 29 December as annual leave and hey presto! You’ve got ten consecutive days off for just three days’ annual leave. Here’s this one broken down too:

Day 1) Saturday 23 December – Normal weekend
Day 2) Sunday 24 December – Normal weekend
Day 3) Monday 25 December – Christmas Day
Day 4) Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day
Day 5) Wednesday 27 December – Annual leave
Day 6) Thursday 28 December – Annual leave
Day 7) Friday 29 December – Annual leave
Day 8) Saturday 30 December – Normal weekend
Day 9) Sunday 31 December – Normal weekend
Day 10) Monday 1 January – New Year’s Day

Have you got any tips for making the most out of your annual leave so that you can go on more holidays? I’d love to hear them, so let me know in the comments below.